2017 Targeted Training: Navigate your Way to a K Award Workshop

Drs. Tiffany Carson and Levi Ross, past K-Award recipients and presenters.

The “Navigate your Way to a K” two-day interactive workshop took place on June 15 - 17, 2016 at Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, FL. The workshop was designed to provide guidance on preparing and/or advancing a career development ‘K’ application for early stage investigators and post-doctoral fellows who are transitioning to independent researcher in the field of cancer and/or cancer health disparities research. The workshop focused on career development grant funding mechanisms (e.g., K01/K08/K22).

Drs. Tiffany Carson and Levi Ross, both past K-Award recipients within Region 2, led the training workshop with topics focusing on the essential components of a K Award and tips on crafting your K Award application. Abigail Soyombo, a program director from the NCI also presented on the importance of getting to know your NCI program directors while writing your K Award. Program facilitators, Drs. Clement Gwede and Cathy Meade, as well as other Moffitt faculty members provided perspectives related to grant writing, publications, study section review, and mentoring. Moffitt faculty included Drs.Teresita Muñoz-Antonia, Brian Gonzalez, Heather Jim, Jong Park, and Gwendolyn P. Quinn.

The workshop also included an interactive mock review session to help trainees better understand the study section process for grant reviews. Next steps include quarterly teleconferences to discuss K award application updates and development of a GMaP Region 2 trainee cohort #2 LinkedIn group for future networking and mentorship. 

Special acknowledgements and thanks to our team members Cindy Burcham, Khaliah Fleming, Patricia Medina-Ramirez, Kimberly Williams, and Drs. Erika Eksioglu and Shannon Christy for all of the extra effort and outstanding work to contribute to a successful training workshop. 

2017 GMaP Region 2 Scholars

Ping-Ching Hsu, PhD (University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Assistant Professor), Mario Fernandez, PhD (Moffitt Cancer Center, Postdoctoral Fellow), Theresa Hoenemeyer, PhD, MSHA (University of Alabama (Birmingham), Research Fellow), Aasha Hoogland, PhD (Moffitt Cancer Center Postdoctoral Fellow), Saira Khan, PhD (Washington University in St. Louis, School of Medicine, Postdoctoral Fellow), Marquita Lewis, PhD (Washington University, Postdoctoral Fellow), Marvin Langston, PhD (Washington University in Saint Louis, Postdoctoral Fellow), Brooke Montgomery, PhD (University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, College of Public Health, Assistant Professor), Michael Preston, PhD (University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Assistant Professor), Siddhartha Roy, DrPH (Moffitt Cancer Center, Postdoctoral Fellow), Jun Tao, PhD (University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Postdoctoral Fellow), Carmen Ortiz-Sánchez, PhD (Ponce Health Sciences University (PHSU) Ponce Research Institute (PRI), Postdoctoral Researcher)